FTP media were not deleted after publishing

๐Ÿ’ป Environment/Context

  • FTP
  • Deletion & recovery

ย 

โ“ Issue/Question

  • I noticed that the FTP folder still contains older media despite we selected the delete files in ftp after publishing option
  • FTP folder still contains the media after they were published and deleted automatically

ย 

๐Ÿ‘Œ Resolution/Answer

  • Publish and delete large batches in two steps
    • Publish the files from Live > Media from FTP to the collection, without selecting Delete files in FTP after publishing
    • Once they're published, delete the remaining files from Media from FTP

ย 

๐Ÿฅš Cause

  • With a large volume of photos, publishing with Delete files in FTP after publishing selected can time out before the files are deleted

ย 

๐Ÿ”– Notes